A cookie is worth a thousand… calories?

I’ve finally mastered the art of the chocolate chip cookie after countless unreliable, burnt batches these past few months. I always thought that a perfectly crafted cookie was the result of finely measured ingredients and… luck. I never knew how to get consistently delicious, evenly-baked cookies. Well I’ve learned the secret, and it only cost $21 at Target: an AirBake sheet and an oven thermometer.

My Dad was the first one to suggest that I buy an oven thermometer. I guess I’m naive; when the oven said it was cooking at 350, I assumed it was actually cooking at 350. So I tested the oven at 350, and I came back and it was actually at 450! I was probably a little too excited about the discovery. (We now realize that we’ve been scorching our pizzas at a whopping 575 degrees each time… no wonder the fire alarm used to go off every time we made pizza…)

The AirBake sheet is AMAZING. The cookies are evenly baked and not burnt on the bottom. Everything I could ever hope for.

Here’s what I did to make an incredible cookie, tested three times for quality control:

The recipe is stolen from here.

1 cup butter (room temp.)
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar packed down
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla (I use real vanilla- none of this fake imitation stuff)
2 1/2 cups flour (modified from 3 cups)
1 tsp baking soda mixed in 2 tsp of hot water
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups of chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (USE AN OVEN THERMOMETER!)

2. Cream together the butter and sugars until smooth. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Add the water with the baking soda along with the salt. Stir in flour (do not over-mix) and fold in the chocolate chips, and nuts. Drop a tablespoon amount on the pan (I greased the AirBake pan).
3. Bake for 15 minutes (check it often, but try not to open the oven because it’ll cause the temp. to drop)
4. Eat and/or share them with others.

PS: I’ve had three cookies while writing this entry.

Here’s a hilarious video to round-off the cookie segment. Notice how uncomfortable Martha is… LOVE IT!


“You know what? Me have no idea what you talking about.”

Leave a Reply

