Weekend of eating & reviews

I’ve already talked about my stint with the infamous coconut cream pie, but didn’t cover the rest of last weekend, which was just as delicious and sinful. I figure I’ll use the cheating as an opportunity to post a couple of reviews, especially since I won’t be frequenting these places for a long while. My eleven year-old brother, Christian, came to stay with me and Dhiren overnight, and we had a really fun time tasting our way around Orange County.

Review # 1: The Original Pancake House

The Saturday morning started at our favorite spot, The Original Pancake House in Anaheim. My mom is actually the one who introduced me and my brother to this place years ago. On the way back from trips to San Diego, we would often stop at the OPH in Aliso Viejo. That specific chain makes an incredible, and I mean incredible, Eggs Benedict.

Anyhow, back to last Saturday. Christian wasn’t impressed with the Western Omelette, but I liked the signature sherry mushroom one that I split with Dhiren. It came with their famous buttermilk pancakes, which I barely touched because of this bad boy:

Meet the notorious Apple Pancake. Oh. My. God. This photo can’t begin to explain how decadent this is. We ordered it with extra cinnamon and sugar, which was a good choice. Totally made the obnoxious 45-minute wait worth it. I also highly recommend the Dutch Baby, which is a lighter (but huge air-filled) pancake served with butter, powdered sugar and lemon. Though on the pricey side for eggs and pancakes, it is worth the extra money for the specialties that you can’t get anywhere else. I recommend going during the week, because who wants to compete with the aggressive and hungry church crowds?

Review #2: Sprinkles Cupcakes & Gelato Paradiso

Ok, we all know about Sprinkes and all the annoying press coverage its gotten. I personally think waiting in the sometimes-long line is totally worth it for the plain dark chocolate cupcake and the dark chocolate with coconut frosting. But, I am not a fan of red velvet cake in any form, including Sprinkles’ famed version. Since childhood I’ve always associated red velvet with the nasty Southern Armadillo Cake, which makes me gag. I don’t understand the hype over red velvet and think that a normal chocolate cupcake smothered in cream cheese frosting is far superior than one drenched in red-dye 40.

Christian is a huge red velvet fan however, and I won’t fault him for it, but even he thought that the red velvet tasted odd this time. I tried a bite and it left a horrible, metallic after-taste. Sure, he finished the cupcake because it’s $4– why let that money go to waste? But something was wrong. I don’t know if these cupcakes are losing quality because of mass production, or if someone tricked us and accidentally slipped in one of their vegan cupcakes, but it left much to be desired.

Looks pretty though!

Below is my favorite Sprinkles: the dark chocolate.

If you are visiting the Newport Beach Sprinkles and are discouraged by the long line and scary Newport housewives in their white SUVs, I highly recommend visiting Gelato Paradiso instead. Their Panna Cotta and Stracciatella are my favorite. It’s a better option all around, boasting a shorter line, lots of interesting and creamy flavors, similar prices for less calories and bloat.

I wanted to include a review of Natraj Cuisine of India, where Christian and I ended our foodventure (below), but that place deserves its own spot on my blog. My favorite dish, paneer masala, won Christian over though.

Thanks for being my partner in crime!

Leave a Reply

