South Beach Wannabe Waffle

There’s one aspect of the South Beach Diet that I don’t like: the 14 days of breakfast hell. Breakfast has always been my favorite meal of the day, full of creams, breads and sweet, fluffy doughy things paired with eggs. When I traveled to Italy last summer I was in breakfast heaven:

My blood sugar was all out of whack too, which is probably why I had a complete meltdown on Capri… not a flattering moment. The come-down from the pasta and sugar highs were not pleasant.

Anyhow, back to breakfast!

On Phase 1, breakfast is strictly an egg, meat, cheese and vegetable thing. I don’t know about you, but sipping coffee with a piece of turkey bacon and broccoli for two weeks strait is NOT my idea of enlightening or sustainable.

So, these waffles were a lifesaver half-way through, when I started feeling gaggy at the thought of eggs. Pair it with tomato juice or a small egg white veggie omelette and you’re set!

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 C.  lowfat Ricotta
  • 1 Tbsp. Splenda (or Xylitol, my fav. alcohol sugar)
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon

Combine everything in a big bowl and beat with an electric mixer. I like to beat it for about 5 minutes. Unlike normal waffle mix, you want to beat in a lot of air to make these a bit fluffier.

Preheat the waffle maker and spray with Pam. Pour in the mix (it will be runny) and cook for a few minutes. The texture will be sort of soggy (I know, sounds delightful…) BUT you won’t feel that all-too-frequent bloat after, and will have eaten a protein-filled waffle.

I topped this with some light cream cheese mixed with Splenda and vanilla, and drizzled some agave syrup on it. Yum.

A little update on my SBD progress

I began Phase 2 of the South Beach Diet yesterday, and though there were some hiccups and moments of cheating during the first 14 days, I am nonetheless 7 pounds lighter this morning. Today I added-in one half of a whole grain tortilla and used a cup of mango for a cardamon-mango lassi for dessert, which was amazing.

It isn’t easy for me to blog in a public forum about my weight loss efforts, BUT I figure a little fear and humility-based motivation couldn’t hurt. And, at least I can share some recipes (and a couple of not-so-good recipes coming soon……)

Stay tuned for Danielle’s Nasty Microwave Quiche Disaster…

Leave a Reply

