Eggplant Sandwich Replica

Since I finished classes at UCI this past December, there’s been a void in my life, and its name is “Chicken Eggplant Sandwich.” Most people who have attended UCI at one point or another stumble on Le Diplomat Cafe and try one of their (cheap) delicious sandwiches.

I decided to try and remake their vegetarian eggplant version (sans chicken).

The recipe:

– 4 tbsp mayo (makes extra aioli)
-1/2 minced garlic from TJs. You can use real garlic if you have a food processor and want it to be that much more fresh- I’d normally use real garlic, but I sadly don’t own a processor (hint, hint… birthday is on September 6th….)
– 1/2 tsp lemon juice,  freshly squeeze.
– French French baguette
– Feta cheese
-Eggplant (I use the Eggplant/Zucchini melange from TJs. Kind of expensive at $3.99, but it’s really good, and all you gotta do is heat it up. Time vs. Money and all…
– 1/2 Roma tomato.
– Sea salt to taste

1. Combine garlic, mayo and lemon juice in a small bowl and mix well.
2. In a small frying pan, heat the eggplant (or grill it/ fry it if using fresh eggplant), add some thinly sliced tomatoes to the pan a couple minutes before taking off the heat.
3. Cut baguette to whatever size you can eat & coat the inside with the garlic mayo.
4. Crumble feta cheese inside.
5. Put baguette open-faced in a toaster, and toast for about 5 minutes, or until feta is soft and gooey.
6. Layer one/two small pieces of eggplant and tomato in the baguette and lightly salt to taste.

Serves two. Goes well with ginger ale. 😉


Result: the garlic mayo at Le Dip is whole fat (I used reduced fat) and I don’t think that they put lemon juice in their aioli.  So mine was  tarter and a bit more acidic, but still pretty damned good, if I do say so myself! I forgot that eggplant is an acidic vegetable, so you really don’t need to add lemon. I think it would be better to add lemon if you plan to use the sauce on a chicken sandwhich though. I also  added extra veggies, whereas Le Dip’s is more sauce & cheese.

The main different was that I didn’t put NEARLY enough garlic compared to the original, so if you don’t mind offending everyone around you for 24 hours, add twice as much garlic and it’ll be more like Le Dip’s. Letting the mayo sit for a couple hours in the fridge after incorporating the garlic is probably a good idea too!

Hope one of you Le Dip lovers tests it out and let’s me know what you think!

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Eggplant Sandwich Replica

  1. This looks great! I had eggplant for the first time yesterday, I made eggplant Parmesan. I wasn’t that impressed with it. Maybe I will try it this way and have a new found love for the big purple thing that looks nothing like an egg. 😉

    • Thank you! It tasted pretty good. Eggplant Parm is tough– my favorite casserole with eggplant is an eggplant & zucchini lasagna. Made it a couple weeks ago and will post the recipe. It was AMAZING and it kind of tastes better than eggplant alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

