Orecchiette with Peas in a Creamed Corn Purée

True story: I actually searched “name for a cheesy corn sauce” in order to find a better way to title this recipe (the results weren’t helpful). The word “purée” reminds me of baby food and has always bothered me. Tonight I needed a recipe that utilized canned corn,  left-over heavy cream from my Thanksgiving creme brûlées, and frozen peas. I winged it and this turned out amazing.

I first pureéd the corn with the heavy cream in the blender. I boiled the orecchiette (which is one of my favorite pastas ever since Italy) and then in a separate skillet, I heated up olive oil and sautéed the onion, garlic, chicken stock and peas, respectively. Once the liquid in the peas reduced, I added the pureéd corn and let it simmer until the pasta was done. After draining the pasta, I threw everything together into the pot and added about a 1/2 cup of low-fat ricotta for thickening and salted it to taste.

This was amazing, and I’m really proud (and kind of astonished) that something I spontaneously created turned out edible! I’m normally a “follow-the-recipe” kind of girl; one of those people who obsessively weighs ingredients and fills up the sink with measuring cups.

I attribute my success to our recent trip to Italy & France. I’ve never tasted more creative and delicious ways to prepare and coat pasta. I don’t think the typical Americanized “red sauce” will ever satisfy me in any real way again. Our three-week trip was INCREDIBLE by the way. I took so many food photos and mentally drafted dozens of reviews, but alas…

we lost the camera on the plane.

So it was a tragic return to Los Angeles. I hyperventilated and cried for days. Eventually, I decided to put it out of my head and have been trying not to think about the loss since. We luckily got home with four out of the five videotapes, so I’ve been screen-capturing stills from that and making “polaroids”. And as a consolation prize I bought myself my dream camera and a snazzy new L-series lens (and am finalizing full-coverage insurance!).

So anyhow, back to tonight’s dinner. This turned out really, really good. It was rich, creamy and satisfying. So if you have two cans of canned corn, some orecchiette and some peas hanging around, give it a try and let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

