Now bring us some figgy pizza!

I should totally be going to bed right now, especially since tomorrow I’ve sworn to wake up at the crack of dawn and begin damage control. The past two weeks have been pure overindulgence excused by Easter and the big news that I will be attending UCLA in the Fall on a full Fellowship! I’m in a constant state of shock. This will mean a new apartment and completely new life in L.A. come September. I plan to savor my last few months here in Costa Mesa, for as much as people love to complain about Orange County, I’ve really enjoyed my life here over the past couple years.

 Some of the food highlights from the past two weeks include an exorbidant amount of See’s Scotchmallow eggs, lunch out today at The Counter in Marina del Rey (see below!), dinner with Leah at Paco’s, pasta night with Iris, dinner at Mozza’s in Newport Beach, salmon eggs benedict for Easter at Dad’s, Nana’s Ham & Yams, and oh yeah….  8 pies I baked as gifts in my small kitchen the Friday before Easter [post to follow later this week].

So anyhow, back to this pizza! Two weeks ago, we literally ate pizza four nights in a row… we are complete pizza addicts. Dhiren made a pizza with goat cheese & figs and it was SO good that I made it again the following day.

Ingredients:

Basic pizza dough
Figs (fresh are the best, but since they were out of season, I used dried)
Goat cheese, crumbled
Honey
1/2 Onion
Olive oil
Mozzarella, grated

1. Prepare your dough! I will put a basic pizza dough recipe up in a couple days for those of you who are curious. For years I bought Trader Joe’s dough, but now we make our own. Not to knock Joe’s, but it always seemed impossible to get a crunchy, perfect dough with their pre-made, refrigerated kind…

2. Caramelize the onions until they are sweet and a deep golden color.

3. I recommend soaking the dried figs for a while prior to heating them up. I didn’t have time to soak them, so I just threw them on a skillet for about 5-8 minutes and heated them with about a tbsp of honey prior to putting them on the pizza.

4. Preheat your oven to about 400 degrees.

5. Roll out your dough as you like it, and brush with olive oil. Crumble goat cheese on top, and grate mozzarella on the entire pizza. Arrange the onions and the figs.

6. Stick it in the oven until the dough is crunchy and cooked (our dough doesn’t LOOK ready in this photo, but it was perfect!) I always use the touch-test with doughs, since looks can sometimes be deceiving.

I love combining sweet and savory flavors, and this is the PERFECT pizza for that. Hope some of you try it out!

Leave a Reply

