Decadent, Creamy Chocolate Coconut Smoothie

Let me start by saying that I really wanted to make chocolate chip cookies instead of a smoothie for my post-lunch snack. I REALLY wanted to. While browsing Pintrest I found a recipe that looked amazing and different than my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. But then the angel on my right shoulder kicked in and told me not to. “Make yourself a healthy, filling and nutritious smoothie instead,” it whispered to me.

It wasn’t tough to change my mind. I walked 4 miles today and have been on-target all week with my points and nutrition. Why blow it the NIGHT before my weigh-in? The whole point of Weight Watchers in my eyes, is to learn how to make smarter choices. You don’t have to feel deprived, but it also doesn’t mean you should give in to every craving and whim on a weekday afternoon. So I’m saving the cookies for tomorrow night. 

Smoothies have a supernatural ability nonetheless, to convince my taste buds that what I am drinking is a dessert. So, it’s a win-win.

Here’s the recipe I made up, and I’ve included the Weight Watchers Points for those of you who might be on the plan. Most of you who know me know that I am a little coconut obsessed. If you don’t like coconut, you can replace it with regular milk, or even almond milk if you’re feeling snazzy. 

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup light coconut milk (3 points)
  • 1/3 cup low-fat milk (1 point)
  • 1 cup ice (0 points)
  • 1 banana (0 points)
  • 2 tbsp sugar (3 points)
  • 1 tsp vanilla (0 points)
  • 1 tsp shredded coconut (0 points) *optional*

Combine everything in the blender & sprinkle with shredded coconut. Total count: 7 points. It’s extremely filling, and makes 2 large cups worth. More importantly it provides real nutrients instead of butter, sugar, flour and chocolate chips.

Granted, the 2 tbsp of sugar is… not ideal, but it tasted too chalky with only 1 tbsp, and I don’t like Splenda or artificial chemical sweeteners. I’d rather have a little of the real thing and feel satiated. Hope you enjoy this.

Leave a comment